Introduction to me

Okay so, the first thing you need to know about me is that I am new to this, not just a blog – although I am new to that – but being myself, and maybe in a year I will look back and think about how I didn’t know who I was but for now, this is me! So without further ado, let me introduce myself, my name is Cora and I live in Ireland. I am passionate about singing and I play guitar and piano, but I must let you know I am not good at either, but I enjoy it and that’s all that matters. I love to read but sometimes I can’t because it’s too tiring, I don’t read as much as I would like to which leads to a pile of possible reading material stacking up on my desk, while I still complain of having nothing to read, but I am working on it.

I am in TY, for anyone who doesn’t know what that is, here is a brief explanation of the Irish school system:  We attend primary school from age 4/5 to age 12, at 12 we move on to secondary school where we start into a 3 year programme called the junior certificate cycle – it consists of first year, second year and third year – at the end of third year you sit a set of exams based on everything you covered in those three years. After third year there is an optional year called TY (stands for transition year), in TY we experience a huge variety of subjects, we produce a musical and go on trips to places like the Zoo or adventure centres or sometimes even abroad, we also do work experience throughout the year and get opportunities to enter lots of competitions and programmes that are only available to TY students, in TY we tend to have a lot of free time on our hands because there is no real school work to be done, it is a year for experiences and socializing rather than study. After that we go on to do two more years called the Leaving Certificate cycle and at the end of those two years we sit exams and graduate from secondary school and might possibly go on to college or university or whatever. ANYWAYS with all the free time TY allows me, I would like to do more reading than I do, its kind of one of my New Years resolutions.

I have lots of interest in science and travel but you’ll hear all about that later. I speak English, Irish and German and dabble in Portuguese and Spanish. That’s a general summary of things I do, there’s lots more but I suppose you’ll find all that out in time.

For now, thanks for reading,

Love, Cora X

Leave a Reply

