Running

I ran

First I ran to distract myself

I ran

Then I ran from the social pressure

I ran

Then I ran from you when you made me nervous.

We ran

We ran from the guards as we drank in a field

We ran

We ran through town to catch our train home.

You ran

You ran the second things got real, became hard.

And now I am running

on my own and I wont stop.

I left chaos behind me

I’m running

and soon I am going to run out of things to help my escape

I’m running from old age

I slow to a walk as my legs can’t carry me

I buckle.

And now I can not run

and it has all caught up with me.

I ran.

only for one day to stop and look at what I had left in my wake.

Leave a Reply

